Author Topic: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?  (Read 112 times)

Offline Shdwknt

  • Level 4: Cobra Kai
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Location: Tampa, FL
  • Posts: 432
  • Suck it
Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« on: December 27, 2017, 01:25:03 PM »
What are the odds that I can convert a Killer Instinct 2 - to a Killer Instinct 1, by replacing the roms and hdd only?  Or are the boards so different that it has to be a complete board swap?
Red White and Blue IGT Slot, Mortal Kombat 1 original cab, SF2 Conversion Cab, 2 - Revolution X, Konami Simpsons cab (with NBA JAM in it); NSM hyperbeem 100 disc Jukebox, 6ft sony licensed Spiderman Statue, califorina speed sitdown, crusin' exotica

Offline busa32927

  • Level 7: Khaaaan!
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Location: port saint john, fl
  • Posts: 1714
Re: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2017, 01:45:29 PM »
i dont think you can.  i know there is a board that will allow you to change a ki1 to a ki2 but it is super rare.
vids:  MK 2,3&4, KI 1&2, ms pac,  60n1, 246/256 (tekken 5 and soul calibur), lethal enforcers, NBA Jams, PP 1&2, robotron, joust w/jrok

WTB: Candy Cab and Crystal Castles

pins: Metallica, TWD, Stern ST Prem, MMr, GB, AC/DC prem., WOZ, SW Prem, GotG

past pins: TFTC,  MSF, PotC, PotO, BK2K, DM, LAH, BoP, LotR, Hook, Spiderman, GoT

Offline Shdwknt

  • Level 4: Cobra Kai
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Location: Tampa, FL
  • Posts: 432
  • Suck it
Re: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2017, 01:58:38 PM »
:( I know you can switch games like SF 2 to SF 2 CE by swapping the roms..

but I was really hoping I could do it with.. KI.. ok.. Thanks.
Red White and Blue IGT Slot, Mortal Kombat 1 original cab, SF2 Conversion Cab, 2 - Revolution X, Konami Simpsons cab (with NBA JAM in it); NSM hyperbeem 100 disc Jukebox, 6ft sony licensed Spiderman Statue, califorina speed sitdown, crusin' exotica

Offline Hamster

  • Mad Sciencetist
  • Administrator
  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Location: Hamster Land, Plant City, FL
  • Posts: 10180
    • Coin Op Florida
Re: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2017, 02:46:16 PM »

if you have the one with this PCB attached between the Main PCB and the HDD, then you have a KI1 converted to KI2, and you can de-convert it.

http://www.thekillerinstinctproject.com/kiproject/images/interfacepcb.jpg


More Information on Converting a KI1 to KI2:  ( and obvously, if you have a PCB that was converted, to Ki2 then you can convert it back to KI1 ) , but if you have a dedicated KI2 PCB, there is no down-converting it.

http://www.thekillerinstinctproject.com/kiproject/kihardware.html
http://www.coinopflorida.com // http://freeplayflorida.com

"Good engineers keep thick authoritative books on their shelf. Not for their own reference, but to throw at people who ask stupid questions. Hoping a small fragment of knowledge will osmotically transfer with each cranial impact." - eeguru


current: pins: TSPP, AMH, T3, ST:TNG, ST:LE, RG, RCT, DW. DE:ST vids: Q*bert, Mad Planets, (2) Sega Uni, OR2 Driver, OR.
past: pins: TWD, SF2, SW:EP1, RFM, T2, T3, LAH, JMn, DE:SW, Gtb:BH, MET, 24 vids:X

Offline Shdwknt

  • Level 4: Cobra Kai
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Location: Tampa, FL
  • Posts: 432
  • Suck it
Re: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2017, 10:49:19 AM »
I havent seen the boards yet myself.. I got a call from a guy I buy games from and he has a KI 2, in a KI 1 cab; and an MK 4, into a MK 2 cab that he squished a 27" monitor in.. not sure what he did to the cab, im worried its all fubared now.. but.. I was interested in taking the KI1/KI 2 and converting it back to a straight KI 1 - but I dont want to drop a ton of $$ on a new board if it can be downgraded.
Red White and Blue IGT Slot, Mortal Kombat 1 original cab, SF2 Conversion Cab, 2 - Revolution X, Konami Simpsons cab (with NBA JAM in it); NSM hyperbeem 100 disc Jukebox, 6ft sony licensed Spiderman Statue, califorina speed sitdown, crusin' exotica

Offline busa32927

  • Level 7: Khaaaan!
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Location: port saint john, fl
  • Posts: 1714
Re: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2017, 11:47:00 AM »
yep hamster found the super rare board i was talking about.    you might find a KI board for sale here or maybe klov.  i havent seen a cheap board in some time.  you could mame it with KI1 until you find a board.

best of luck
vids:  MK 2,3&4, KI 1&2, ms pac,  60n1, 246/256 (tekken 5 and soul calibur), lethal enforcers, NBA Jams, PP 1&2, robotron, joust w/jrok

WTB: Candy Cab and Crystal Castles

pins: Metallica, TWD, Stern ST Prem, MMr, GB, AC/DC prem., WOZ, SW Prem, GotG

past pins: TFTC,  MSF, PotC, PotO, BK2K, DM, LAH, BoP, LotR, Hook, Spiderman, GoT

Offline Hamster

  • Mad Sciencetist
  • Administrator
  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2008
  • Location: Hamster Land, Plant City, FL
  • Posts: 10180
    • Coin Op Florida
Re: Switching KI 2 for KI1 - can it be done via just roms ?
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2017, 12:28:23 PM »
if its a KI2 in a KI cab, 80% chance its a KI1 upgraded to KI2 and has the more desired after board.


i prefer KI2 over KI1... but then i also liked the new Star Wars movie.
http://www.coinopflorida.com // http://freeplayflorida.com

"Good engineers keep thick authoritative books on their shelf. Not for their own reference, but to throw at people who ask stupid questions. Hoping a small fragment of knowledge will osmotically transfer with each cranial impact." - eeguru


current: pins: TSPP, AMH, T3, ST:TNG, ST:LE, RG, RCT, DW. DE:ST vids: Q*bert, Mad Planets, (2) Sega Uni, OR2 Driver, OR.
past: pins: TWD, SF2, SW:EP1, RFM, T2, T3, LAH, JMn, DE:SW, Gtb:BH, MET, 24 vids:X