Author Topic: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?  (Read 229 times)

Offline ArcadeAction

  • Level 5: Power User!
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • ArcadeMade.com
Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« on: May 15, 2018, 01:13:46 PM »
Basically I'd like to connect RGB from a SuperNES and eventually RGB from a NES to an arcade monitor chassis that is housed in a wood grain 25" or 19" monitor. PVMs are great, but I just want a rounded tube and a classic looking TV. I thought I'd use a k7203 or VisionPro or a 25" K7400 chassis so I won't need an ISO transformer.

What's the best way to do this right now?

I realize I could get a HD Retrovision SuperNES component cable, just wanting to figure how to convert that to arcade RGB connection (maybe there is a cable already or SuperNES SCART to arcade RGB method). And then could install an NES RGB chip and perhaps wire direct wires from this to the arcade monitor RGB input.

Also, my tri-sync candy cab has a VGA input (and I have a couple of extra JPACs also onhand if need be). Is there a suitable component or SCART to VGA adapter you could recommend that would be suitable to connect to this monitor?

Thanks

Offline Hamster

  • Mad Sciencetist
  • Administrator
  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Posts: 10594
    • Coin Op Florida
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2018, 02:19:21 PM »
you need an rgb downscaler.

maybe an HDMI->VGA and then use something like a EXTRON-DVS-204

but this may add a frame or two of lag...

http://www.coinopflorida.com // http://freeplayflorida.com

"Good engineers keep thick authoritative books on their shelf. Not for their own reference, but to throw at people who ask stupid questions. Hoping a small fragment of knowledge will osmotically transfer with each cranial impact." - eeguru


current: pins: TSPP, AMH, T3, ST:TNG, ST:LE, RG, RCT, DW. DE:ST, WW
vids: Q*bert, Mad Planets, (2) Sega Uni, Dual Outrun 2 Driver, OmegaRace, Ataxx, Reactor, Crystal Castle, MultiVector, Cloak and Dagger

Offline ArcadeAction

  • Level 5: Power User!
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • ArcadeMade.com
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2018, 02:34:17 PM »
you need an rgb downscaler.

maybe an HDMI->VGA and then use something like a EXTRON-DVS-204

but this may add a frame or two of lag...

Ok, that would maybe seem to work for the SuperNES Classic with HDMI out.

For an original SuperNES and what I'm trying to do I was primarily thinking of picking up the HD Retrovision SuperNES component cable and then looking for a cable/wiring/method that would then connect to arcade RGB wiring.

Offline Hamster

  • Mad Sciencetist
  • Administrator
  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Posts: 10594
    • Coin Op Florida
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2018, 03:08:57 PM »
The SNES already supports RGB Natively, should work connected up with proper amp/buffers to get the signal levels right.

http://retrorgb.com/snesminirgb.html

http://www.coinopflorida.com // http://freeplayflorida.com

"Good engineers keep thick authoritative books on their shelf. Not for their own reference, but to throw at people who ask stupid questions. Hoping a small fragment of knowledge will osmotically transfer with each cranial impact." - eeguru


current: pins: TSPP, AMH, T3, ST:TNG, ST:LE, RG, RCT, DW. DE:ST, WW
vids: Q*bert, Mad Planets, (2) Sega Uni, Dual Outrun 2 Driver, OmegaRace, Ataxx, Reactor, Crystal Castle, MultiVector, Cloak and Dagger

Offline Hamster

  • Mad Sciencetist
  • Administrator
  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Posts: 10594
    • Coin Op Florida
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2018, 03:11:07 PM »
http://www.coinopflorida.com // http://freeplayflorida.com

"Good engineers keep thick authoritative books on their shelf. Not for their own reference, but to throw at people who ask stupid questions. Hoping a small fragment of knowledge will osmotically transfer with each cranial impact." - eeguru


current: pins: TSPP, AMH, T3, ST:TNG, ST:LE, RG, RCT, DW. DE:ST, WW
vids: Q*bert, Mad Planets, (2) Sega Uni, Dual Outrun 2 Driver, OmegaRace, Ataxx, Reactor, Crystal Castle, MultiVector, Cloak and Dagger

Offline ArcadeAction

  • Level 5: Power User!
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • ArcadeMade.com
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2018, 03:40:15 PM »
I see those cables there that output to SCART (and HD Retrovision's that output to Component).

What cable then goes from these to connect to an arcade monitor? Is there a premade solution/connector? Or do I need to hack the connector and wire it in?

Offline Hamster

  • Mad Sciencetist
  • Administrator
  • Level 10: Timelord
  • *****
  • Posts: 10594
    • Coin Op Florida
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2018, 04:04:38 PM »
you dont need an expensive scart cable, just run the rgb+sync out of the SNES... otherwise your going to have to chop the end of the scart connector off..

just think of an arcade monitor as a PVM without a fancy case or connectors and no fancy osd.

https://gamesx.com/wiki/doku.php?id=av:nintendomultiav
http://www.coinopflorida.com // http://freeplayflorida.com

"Good engineers keep thick authoritative books on their shelf. Not for their own reference, but to throw at people who ask stupid questions. Hoping a small fragment of knowledge will osmotically transfer with each cranial impact." - eeguru


current: pins: TSPP, AMH, T3, ST:TNG, ST:LE, RG, RCT, DW. DE:ST, WW
vids: Q*bert, Mad Planets, (2) Sega Uni, Dual Outrun 2 Driver, OmegaRace, Ataxx, Reactor, Crystal Castle, MultiVector, Cloak and Dagger

Offline ArcadeAction

  • Level 5: Power User!
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
    • ArcadeMade.com
Re: Easy to Connect Component to Arcade Monitor RGB?
« Reply #7 on: May 25, 2018, 03:17:25 PM »
Thanks for the input I might do that at some point with an extra SuperNES

Here also is a device that goes from SCART to screw terminals for RGB a person can use without modding, but would add cost: http://arcadeforge.net/Scaler-and-Strike-Devices/Sync-Strike::15.html

Right now I'm using a modded Wii with component out. I realize I'm a few years behind on getting around to doing the Wii mod, but the result is amazing on a high quality CRT with component input. The improvement over S-Video is such a dramatic improvement on SuperNES games. Genesis games and NES games look amazing as well.

Going Forward:
Using a SuperNES Classic and modded to run on HD screens with HDMI, and a modded Wii for CRTs with component video is an excellent low cost choice I think and you can use your SuperNES Classic and NES Classic controllers on the modded Wii. It's still fun to play these systems on lesser RF and composite connections as that's what they used to look like.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2018, 11:41:20 PM by ArcadeAction »